Skip to content

Rugby Cupcakes

September 12, 2011

The world cup is going on right now – what? You say the next world cup doesn’t start until 2014? No, no, it’s the Rugby World Cup. So, as I was saying, in honor of the Rugby World Cup, and the fall seasons of rugby teams everywhere (including my team, Brooklyn Women’s Rugby, and my best friends Audrey and Leslie’s team, Chesapeake Women’s Rugby) I made cupcakes. Because what rugger doesn’t like cupcakes?

Gluten-free cupcakes by Elana Amsterdam

Gluten-free cupcakes by Elana Amsterdam

The recipe I used is pulled from Elana Amsterdam’s Gluten-free Cupcakes, a cookbook given to me as a wedding present from my good friend Cristina. I’m super excited to be able to use this cookbook as I have a love affair with coconut flour. Mind you, when you use coconut flour, it is super absorbent. I once made a chicken pot pie using coconut flour in the crust. I baked the pie, thinking of all the creamy sauce and vegetables inside. Alas, the coconut flour had soaked up ALL the creamy filling, and I was left with chicken and dry vegetables. Learn from my mistake people, coconut flour is the sponge of flours.

I used Elana’s recipe for chocolate cupcakes below:

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar

Glancing over this list made me a little nervous at first. Grapeseed oil? Agave Nectar? I’ve had agave nectar, and it can be too sweet and tad bitter for my taste. However, if this cupcake is better for me and still tastes fabulous, I am all for it.

First, turn your oven on to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line your cupcake/muffin pan with 9 liners. Note, this recipe makes 9 cupcakes.

Then, mix the wet and dry ingredients separately, until both are combined completely. The dry ingredients should be in a larger bowl. Also, like sugar, Agave nectar is a wet ingredient – just in case you didn’t notice it’s a syrup.

Next, mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients with an hand mixer. Or, if you’re training for the rugby season, a whisk and your bare arms. Grr.

Cupcake batter with Coconut flour. Remember, this is okay. The coconut flour will soak up all the moisture.

The mix will look a little runny. After the mix is thoroughly combined, grab your 1/4 cup, and ladle the mix into the lined cupcake pan. Then, pop it into your 350 degree oven for 18-22 minutes. The cupcakes are done when you insert a toothpick in the middle, and it comes out clean. Now let them cool for about an hour before frosting. Otherwise, your frosting will melt into the cupcakes.

Speaking of frosting, I used a cream cheese frosting and chocolate frosting. For a simple cream cheese frosting, just blend cream cheese with a sweetening agent (confectioners sugar, simple syrup, or agave nectar) until the sweetness you want is achieved. Then fold in whipped cream (I made my own using cold heavy cream and a hand mixer until soft peaks form). The ratio of cream cheese to whipped cream is up to you, but I used 3/4 cup cream to a cup cream cheese.

Rugby Cupcakes all decorated and ready to go.

I decorated my cupcakes with a rugby theme, alternating the two frostings for variety. I wanted to get the whole “Rugby World Cup 2011” on there, but realized that was entirely too ambitious for my icing skills. So I went simple.

Either way, the most important factor was their fluffy deliciousness. Oh, and they were both fluffy and delicious. My junk food loving husband told me so, and I agreed. The ruling? Agave nectar and grapeseed oil work wonderfully with coconut flour to make yummy cupcakes.

Cupcake in your face

This is the cupcake heading to my mouth. Yum.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 3:51 pm

    Amazing!

  2. Jack permalink
    September 13, 2011 8:50 am

    I would “invest” in these cupcakes

Leave a Reply

